Claes G. Ryn, Chairman
Claes Ryn is Professor of Politics at The Catholic University of America where he was also RynChairman of his Department for six years. In  April 2011 the University honored him with the Achievement in Research Faculty Award. In 1992 the Graduate Students Association named him Outstanding Graduate Professor in the University. Ryn has also taught at the University of Virginia and Georgetown University. His fields of teaching and research include ethics and politics; politics and culture; and the history of Western political thought. Ryn is Editor of the academic journal Humanitas. Born and raised in Sweden, he is widely published on both sides of the Atlantic. His many books include America the Virtuous; Democracy and the Ethical Life; Will, Imagination and Reason; and The New Jacobinism: Can Democracy Survive?, each of which has received much attention and acclaim in the United States, Europe, and elsewhere. Ryn's articles appear in leading journals, magazines and newspapers. He lectures widely and is a frequent guest on television and radio. In 2000 he was invited by Peking University to give a lecture series as "Distinguished Foreign Scholar." The book based on those lectures, Unity Through Diversity, was published in Chinese by Beijing University Press in 2001. Ryn was elected president of the Philadelphia Society for 2001-2002. Publications

Joseph Baldacchino, President
Joseph Baldacchino for a quarter of a century has divided his time between journalistic and scholBaldacchinoarly writing. He is Editor of the academic journal Humanitas and was for many years a Washington reporter and editor, in which capacity he addressed most aspects of national policy and politics but with particular emphasis on ethical and cultural issues. Baldacchino is author of Economics and the Moral Order and, with others, Irving Babbitt in Our Time, as well as editor of Educating for Virtue. His present writing project, with others, is a constitutional history of the United States entitled Who We Are: The Story of America's Constitution. Publications
Mark L. Melcher, Treasurer
Mark L. Melcher is an award-winning writer on political, economic, and cultural affairs. He is president of The Political Forum (

Board of Trustees
Edward S. Babbitt, Jr. 
New York, New York

Jameson Campaigne, Jr.
Ottawa, Illinois

Junia Doan
Midland, Michigan

Audrey Musser Murray 
Annapolis, Maryland

Bill Wichterman
Fairfax, Virginia

Academic Board

George W. Carey 
Professor of Government 
Georgetown University

Jude P. Dougherty 
Dean Emeritus
School of Philosophy

The Catholic University of America

David C. Jordan
Professor of Government
University of Virginia

Ralph Ketcham
Professor of History Emeritus
Maxwell School
Syracuse University

Forrest McDonald 
Distinguished University Professor 
University of Alabama

Walter A. McDougall
Alloy-Ansin Professor of
International Relations
University of Pennsylvania

Jacob Neusner 
Research Professor of
Religion and Theology
Bard College

James Seaton 
Professor of English 
Michigan State University

Peter J. Stanlis 
Distinguished Professor of
Humanities Emeritus
Rockford College

Michael A. Weinstein 
Professor of Political Science 
Purdue University

Updated 24 May 2011